THE JOCKEY

When I was younger, I was intrigued with horses. I was sure I was supposed to be involved with them in one form or another – either as a jockey (for the danger) or as a rich owner who just went around buying horses willy-nilly (for the …. well, for the wealth). When I was 10 or 12, we went to get pumpkins for my birthday (late October birthdays rock!) and they had a horse that you could “ride” around the paddock, led by a trainer.  As a birthday treat, my parents let me ride her and it was one of those times where I felt pure joy.

Horses have yet to enter my adult life and I have learned to settle for a house full of cats & dogs, and a business full of stuffed animals. But every now and then, usually while I’m dreaming, they resurface and I feel that elation again.

It’s good to see that at least one of the denizens of Fragile Earth Stuffed Animals shares my love, even if he’s not quite sure which way he should be facing. The Bunglie Bunny also harbors hidden dreams of racing around the track,

hearing the beating of hooves behind him as he reaches that final hurdle,

and crosses the finish line first to thunderous applause. At which point, he will lean back in his saddle and bask in the glory!

One response to “THE JOCKEY

  1. Pingback: Earth Day Activities - Earth Day: Give Earth a Hand

Leave a Reply

