APPLE ROCKS!

Monday night, as we got ready to close up the store, I managed to knock my bottle of diet coke over onto my computer keyboard. I never imagined how quickly a 16 oz bottle of soda can empty itself into the innards of a computer. My trusty MacBook made a ftz ftz sound and went to a purple screen. Awesome!

Yelling at Helen to bring paper towels, I turned it on its side to try to keep any more liquid from entering the system. Then the computer turned itself off, probably in despair. I couldn’t get it to turn back on again so, while I threw a mini tantrum, Helen made me an appointment with the genius bar at the Freehold NJ Apple store for the next day.

Helen and I decided that we just didn’t have money in the budget for a new computer so when I checked in and told my tale of woe, and the lady helping me got this sick look on her face, my heart sank. “Liquid damage” she said, “is never a good thing.” She had me wait by the genius bar for my name to be called. Luckily I brought a book with me because it took a good 45 minutes for them to get to my name, and I was 10 minutes early for my appointment. Lots of computers were in trouble that day!

It may have taken a while for my turn to come, but it took the technician no time at all to diagnose that syrup and coke managed to touch all the important parts of the computer. Extra work was needed. Luckily, I purchased AppleCare when I got the computer a year ago, but ‘liquid damage’ is not covered under the warranty. Not to worry, he assured me. Since I had never had any major work done on my computer, they would, for this one time, do it at no charge.

At this time, my computer is off at the Mac hospital, getting his insides cleaned out. Hopefully, he will be returned (delivered to my door) in a week with his memory intact. There is a chance he may need to be wiped but I have the Time Machine and it did a backup Sunday morning. And if worse comes to worse, and he is beyond saving (sob!), then Apple will replace him free of charge. I can not recommend the AppleCare strongly enough to anyone buying electronic equipment. I’m only surprised it took me a year to dump my coke. If I were betting on it happening, I would have put it within the first four months.

Mary Beth

One response to “APPLE ROCKS!

  1. Pingback: What’s new with you? « Cats, Books, Life is Good

Leave a Reply

