Origami Song Birds – Day 10 National Craft Month March 2012

Since this is my first foray into Origami, I’m going to start with an easy project. I started reading about some of the basic folds and got immediately defeated. Inside Reverse Fold? That sounds like some intricate gymnastics move and I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to those.

Not having a stash of Origami paper on hand, I first needed to figure out how big to make the paper. Evidently, size doesn’t matter in paper folding, you just have to make sure that it is a perfect square (i.e. when you fold one corner to the other, there can’t be any overlap.) I chose to make my birds with 4″ squares and I used a paper cutter to make exact cuts.

Fold corner A to meed corner B and crease it.

Open the paper and fold corner C to meet corner D and crease it.

Go back to your original fold (A meeting B) and bend A back towards the straight line between C & D. Corner A should stick out over the line by a little bit (about 1/4 inch).

Now bring C down to meet D, leaving A jutting out.

About 2/3 of the way up, fold D up towards the straight edge .

Flip your bird over and do the same thing with the other side (i.e. Fold C up.)

Use a marker to add eyes to either side of the head.

I am so pleased with how these came out. For my next feat, I will take on a replica of the Taj Mahal:)

I found this Origami project at origami-instructions.com

Leave a Reply

