Egg Carton Wreath – Day 29 National Craft Month March 2012

We eat a lot of eggs in our house, but I never remember to save the cartons. This is mainly because my dogs love to chew on them and I usually give them whatever they want. But I finally asserted myself and told them that needed the carton to make a wreath. As you would expect, they looked at me as if I had lost my mind, but I stood firm.

What you will need for this project:  a paper plate, crayons (or paint, if you have it), sequins, green construction paper, a ribbon to hang your wreath when you’re finished, and 8 cups from the egg carton.

Cut out the middle of the plate. The resulting ring will be the base for your wreath.

Cut 8 egg cups from the carton. The instructions call for neatly and evenly trimmed cups, but I just laughed derisively at that. Anyone who knows me knows that neat and even are two words that just don’t apply here!

Color or paint the inside of the egg cups. I kind of like the mottled effect of using two crayons inside the cup (which translates to I NEED TO BUY PAINT SOON!)

Glue a sequin in the middle of the egg cup for a little touch of bling!

Cut tiny triangles out of the edges of the egg cups. Fold the petals out.

Glue the flowers around the outer rim of the plate.

Using the green construction paper, cut out leaves to fill in between the flowers.

Glue the petals between the flowers.

Punch a hole in the plate and add the ribbon hanger. Be sure to place it in the darkest part of the store so the colors don’t show up at all in the final presentation.

 

Project originally found at Free Crafts for Kids and thoroughly mucked up by me.

Leave a Reply

